raisingkidswithlove

You don't have to be perfect to be the perfect parent!

An afternoon off….?


laundry basket

Can a broken washer result in something besides a lot of dirty laundry?

My washer broke this last week and the part is taking a week to get here.  No washer for over a week is not the end of the world, it is just a major inconvenience and I know there are many Moms who have to trek to the laundrymat to do laundry each week.  I myself did that when we were first married.  I used to go once a week, use 3 or 4 washers, wash and dry the clothes, load them up and head home.  During the couple of hours it took me to wash, I often read a few magazines or a book, or even sat and mindlessly and daydreamed for a bit.

This week as I saw the laundry pile up, I felt a bit of anxiety creep into my head.  I have a thing for having an empty laundry basket, no matter how short-lived that is. We all know that an empty basket probably only lasts a few hours, often minutes when kids are around!  I watched basket after basket of dirty clothes begin to build.  Sweaty running clothes, dirty socks turned inside out (my pet peeve), underwear, towels, sheets….and more.  As I felt myself become more and more anxious, I began to entertain the idea that an afternoon of doing laundry may not be such an awful thing.  I headed to my oldest daughter’s apartment and sat quietly listening to the hum of the washer as I folded clothes, towels, socks, shirts and shorts.  No interruptions, no running between the washer and other chores in the house.  Just me, 6 loads of clothes, 4 hours of time, a washer and dryer and a few fashion magazines she had.  Not a bad afternoon…dirty laundry and a broken washer can have its perks.  I may see if that part can actually be on “back order” for another week!  Who knew that doing laundry could actually feel like an afternoon off?!  Enjoying the moment just took on a whole new meaning……

Take a breath, enjoy the joyful moments of each day, and remember you don’t have to be perfect to be the perfect parent.

Cindy

Leave a Reply

